Page 1 of 1

The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-09T15:07:28-07:00
by pc81
Hello! I downloaded and installed the ImageMagick-7.0.8-Q16. But in this program there is no file folder animate.exe. Please tell me, this version understands, for example, the command

Code: Select all

animate -delay 50 c.tif
?

Re: The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-09T15:21:50-07:00
by snibgo
In ImageMagick v7, the overall command is "magick". This can be followed by "animate", "compare", and so on.

Re: The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-09T16:36:31-07:00
by fmw42
Moved to the Users forum, since you question has nothing to do with Imagick plugin for PHP

Code: Select all

magick animate -delay 50 c.tif

Re: The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-10T05:11:48-07:00
by pc81
fmw42 wrote: 2019-05-09T16:36:31-07:00

Code: Select all

magick animate -delay 50 c.tif
You will not mistake their file extension? For some it is strange. I made what you wrote correctly, the command performed it at the command prompt, run from the folder in which has gif file., in response, received the list of commands to imagemagick, version, and so on. But clearly not what you intended. Ran the same command with the extension .gif - the result is the same.

Re: The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-10T09:06:40-07:00
by fmw42
On Windows it would be

Code: Select all

magick.exe animate -delay 50 c.tif

Re: The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-10T11:41:34-07:00
by pc81
fmw42 wrote: 2019-05-10T09:06:40-07:00 On Windows it would be

Code: Select all

magick.exe animate -delay 50 c.tif
As I thought when I saw your proposed version: the reaction is the same as described above. However, the command

Code: Select all

magick -version
executed properly.I repeat the question: what about file extension? This is not a bug in the team? In the folder because no file with a .tif extension, there is a file with the extension .gif.

Re: The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-10T13:24:25-07:00
by fmw42
Is your tiff multi-page? Animate needs more than one image in the command sequence. The following works fine for me on IM 7.0.8.44 Q16 Mac OSX

Code: Select all

magick lena.jpg mandril3.jpg zelda1.jpg tmp.tif
magick animate -delay 100 tmp.tif
I do not know what viewer is used on Windows. Perhaps that is the issue. Have you tried with several files in the following form?

Code: Select all

magick.exe animate -delay 50 image1.png image2.png .... imageN.png 
The documentation for animate (https://imagemagick.org/script/animate.php) says:

"Use the animate program to animate an image sequence on any X server"

Does Windows use X? Sorry, I know little about Windows. But I suspect it does not.

Re: The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-10T14:13:52-07:00
by snibgo
Microsoft Windows doesn't include an X server. It can be installed as additional software. If it isn't, then "magick animate" will do nothing useful.

Re: The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-11T04:28:44-07:00
by pc81
I got it. Thank you very much. Could you give a link to download the X Server? I searched around on the Internet, only I'm afraid not to install what you need. I have a 32-bit version of Windows7 ultimate.

Re: The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-11T04:38:11-07:00
by snibgo
I use Windows 8.1, without any X server. I have no experience of X server, sorry.

Why do you want it?

Re: The relevance of the animate

Posted: 2019-05-11T05:04:49-07:00
by pc81
snibgo wrote: 2019-05-11T04:38:11-07:00 Why do you want it?
How to understand the "why"? I learn programming language Asymptote. For the interpreter of the language sometimes need imagemagick. By the way, the version of imagemagick ffmpeg.exe file me defective: I had to install the ffmpeg program separately and add the folder of the installed program in the PATH (before imagemagick) to Asymptote was able to extradite animated .gif files.