Page 1 of 1

[Fixed] Trouble with Beta version on Windows

Posted: 2014-05-14T19:45:50-07:00
by spongemonkey
I'm just testing out the new channel stuff in the beta version with the following code:

Code: Select all

#include <Magick++.h>

int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
	Magick::Image image("wizard.jpg");
	MagickCore::Image* coreImage = image.image();

	for (int i = 0; i < image.channels(); ++i)
		MagickCore::PixelChannel channel = MagickCore::GetPixelChannelChannel(coreImage, i);

	return 0;
}
This seems to work on Linux but fails on Windows (with any image, built with VS2012) because coreImage->channel_map is null. It doesn't seem to be null if I use the debugger to dig into the Magick::Image object to inspect the value of channel_map, but it is null on the pointer returned from the Magick::Image::image() function. Anyone have any idea what's going on here?

Re: Trouble with Beta version on Windows

Posted: 2014-05-15T00:20:47-07:00
by dlemstra
With beta you mean ImageMagick 7 that is alpha? Are you using the latest code from our SVN repository or did you download a zip file?

Re: Trouble with Beta version on Windows

Posted: 2014-05-15T04:15:22-07:00
by magick
We upgraded ImageMagick status to beta several months ago to promote wider spread use. We want to identify any problems or bugs before an official release in a few years.

Re: Trouble with Beta version on Windows

Posted: 2014-05-15T07:02:29-07:00
by spongemonkey
I'll assume magick's response was @dlemstra, but to clarify this is v7.0

When I tested on linux it was downloaded as a zip file (as I can't seem to checkout from the repo to a VirtualBox hosted linux installation). I couldn't find a v7 download with the necessary VisualMagick additions to let me compile with Visual Studio, so I updated a v6.8 directory with the new code from the repo, which compiled just fine.

I guessed it might be down to some incompatible setting between IM and my test project, but the settings are the same as I have used in several IM based programs before...

Re: [Fixed] Trouble with Beta version on Windows

Posted: 2014-05-15T09:29:11-07:00
by spongemonkey
Ignore this guys, there was a problem with the dlls I had in my output directory.