-resize filesize the same as -thumbnail

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

-resize filesize the same as -thumbnail

Post by Bonzo »

I have just run a test and get the same filesize for -resize and thumbnail; adding -strip to thumbnail had no effect either.
version 6.7.6 Q16 run through php on a Vista PC

Code: Select all

convert image.jpg -resize 1024x680 output1.jpg

-resize dimensions = 1021 x 680 186kb

convert image.jpg -thumbnail 1024x680 -strip output2.jpg

-thumbnail dimensions = 1021 x 680 186kb
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: -resize filesize the same as -thumbnail

Post by fmw42 »

thumbnail does the strip automatically. try adding -strip to resize. But you probably need some image that has lots of meta-data.
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: -resize filesize the same as -thumbnail

Post by Bonzo »

The strip was not the problem and I forgot to take it out of the post.

The problem was that resize and thumbnail gave the same filesize.

It looks like the original convert was the problem; the CR2 file contains the EXIF data and converting it to a jpg has removed it all

Code: Select all

exec("convert IMG_4979_1.CR2 image.jpg");
Post Reply