Page 1 of 1

animate -loop n ... loops n+1 times ... a bug?

Posted: 2010-03-18T12:41:52-07:00
by crowhill
hi there

i have 1.gif, ..., 9.gif.

if i type

Code: Select all

animate -delay 30 -loop n %d.gif[1-9] 
where n is an integer greater than 0, i get an animation that 1st starts at 2.gif instead of 1.gif and 2nd loops through the gifs n+1 times instead of n times. therefore, it is impossible to get an animation that loops through the images once and only once (n=0 gives infinitely many loops).

a bug?

cheers,
crowhill.

Re: animate -loop n ... loops n+1 times ... a bug?

Posted: 2010-03-19T07:40:29-07:00
by magick
We can reproduce the problem you posted and have a patch in ImageMagick 6.6.0-8 Beta available by sometime tomorrow. Thanks.

Re: animate -loop n ... loops n+1 times ... a bug?

Posted: 2010-03-22T21:23:23-07:00
by anthony
Animate has a more serious problem in that the first loop though the animation happens while it is still reading the animation file. This has the effect that the delay does not happen properly, especially for very large images, until the next frame of the animation has been read in.

You may be interested in my scripts
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/script ... show_morph
and a similar 'transtion to this image now', script.
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/scripts/slideshow_next

This has some major comments on timing and problems with solutions that I have had to deal with in animate.