Problems with TIFF formats on Mac OSX.

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
ian313665

Problems with TIFF formats on Mac OSX.

Post by ian313665 »

I've been discussing some techniques in a different thread and come across some strange results when using TIFF format on Mac OSX.

Code: Select all

Version: ImageMagick 6.5.7-0 2009-11-07 Q16
Tagged Image File Format (LIBTIFF, Version 3.9.1)
Firstly I need to state that I'm not very good at installing and using command-line software. I use MacPorts to simplify the installation process and I don't have the knowledge to investigate this issue any further than stated below.

This command produces a grayscale image:

convert -colorspace RGB label:'This is a test' cstest.tiff
I apologise in advance if I'm wrong here but I'm sure that the '-colorspace RGB' switch would force the image to be RGB 24/32 bit? The result is grayscale format. Here is the file for reference. (http://www.asura.co.uk/cstest.tiff)

I was obtaining some help in a different thread with this command. I was looping through ASCII characters and using ImageMagick to write out separate files containing each character for some OpenGL font rendering. The aim here is to render an anti-aliased character into the alpha channel and have the RGB fully white.

convert \( -background black -fill white -pointsize 50 label:A \) \
\( +clone -threshold -1 \) \
-alpha off +swap -compose copy_opacity -composite font.65.tiff
When I use this command, the RGB fill is black instead of white, the format is grayscale and the alpha channel does not have an smooth blend at the font edges. There are also streaky lines in the alpha channel.

If you substitute the '.tiff' for '.tga' then the results are correct for the TGA version.

http://www.asura.co.uk/font.65.tiff (incorrect version using TIFF)