Incompatible PSD file

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
axelrose
Posts: 96
Joined: 2008-12-16T06:01:27-07:00

Incompatible PSD file

Post by axelrose »

Using IM 6.5.4-7 and input file http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/84530/IM/layers.psd

Code: Select all

convert layers.psd -background red layers1.psd
produces a PSD http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/84530/IM/layers1.psd
which is not usable in Photoshop (tested with CS4), error mesage "incompatible version".

If I fiddle with the -layers" option all works fine though:

Code: Select all

convert layers.psd -background red -layers merge layers2.psd
gives http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/84530/IM/layers2.psd

Thanks for your support
Axel
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Incompatible PSD file

Post by fmw42 »

the first frame of the psd file image.psd[0] is the flattened image. so if you are flattening all layers in the file, you will have it flattened twice. if you just want the flattened layer, then just specify image.psd[0]
axelrose
Posts: 96
Joined: 2008-12-16T06:01:27-07:00

Re: Incompatible PSD file

Post by axelrose »

Understood.

I just think that it would be better to produce no PSD rather than an unusable one.

Cheers,
Axel.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Incompatible PSD file

Post by fmw42 »

convert layers.psd -background red layers1.psd
-background red is an setting and not an action, so it does nothing here as far as I understand it. it needs to be used with some other action type option

don't know why you get unusable PS results, but I think this has been reported before. but possibly due to user misunderstanding. Cannot say if it is a bug or not.
axelrose
Posts: 96
Joined: 2008-12-16T06:01:27-07:00

Re: Incompatible PSD file

Post by axelrose »

Doesn't make any difference. If I do

Code: Select all

convert layers.psd -resize 50x50 -background red layers-50x50-red.psd
the resulting PSD file is still unusable.

I know how to circumvent the situation by using a single layer.

The point I wanted to make is that without any error message or exit code != 0 IM is producing an usable file.
This is difficult to detect if you do batch processing.

Cheers,
Axel.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Incompatible PSD file

Post by fmw42 »

convert layers.psd -resize 50x50 -background red layers-50x50-red.psd
background red is still useless in this situation, it only applies with certain commands, such as -layers, -flatten, -rotate, label, caption and should be put before these options.

convert layers.psd -background red -flatten layers_flattened_red.psd

but the first layer of the psd is already a flattened file, so you may have to exclude it from the frames.

layers.psd[1--1] for example I believe is all frames but the first one [0].

see http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/basics/#sequence
Post Reply