import does not work with right click menus

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
ernetas
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-10-04T06:58:28-07:00
Authentication code: 67789

import does not work with right click menus

Post by ernetas »

import command from imagemagick package cannot grab a screenshot when there is an active right click menu.

I'm using newest software I can:
Fluxbox 1.3.2
Transmission 2.71
Imagemagick 6.7.9.8

Steps to reproduce:
1. Launch Transmission and xterm.
2. Run "sleep 2; import screenshot.jpg" and in the meantime right click in Transmission window any torrent.
3. Get the error:
import: unable to grab mouse `': Resource temporarily unavailable @ error/xwindow.c/XSelectWindow/9047.
ernetas
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-10-04T06:58:28-07:00
Authentication code: 67789

Re: import does not work with right click menus

Post by ernetas »

Bump.
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: import does not work with right click menus

Post by anthony »

This is not a bug in Imagemagick, but in how the X window system operates.

Some applications create menus by 'grabbing the mouse pointer' for its private use. While in this state "import" can not do anything, In fact no other application can do anything until either the application frees the 'grab' or is killed.

That is just the way things are.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
ernetas
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-10-04T06:58:28-07:00
Authentication code: 67789

Re: import does not work with right click menus

Post by ernetas »

anthony wrote:This is not a bug in Imagemagick, but in how the X window system operates.

Some applications create menus by 'grabbing the mouse pointer' for its private use. While in this state "import" can not do anything, In fact no other application can do anything until either the application frees the 'grab' or is killed.

That is just the way things are.
But scrot is able to grab a screenshot even when a right click menu is called.
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: import does not work with right click menus

Post by magick »

ImageMagick utilizes the X11 API for screen shots. Some information may not be defined to X11. Other programs may grab the information directly from the framebuffer where it is.
ernetas
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-10-04T06:58:28-07:00
Authentication code: 67789

Re: import does not work with right click menus

Post by ernetas »

magick wrote:ImageMagick utilizes the X11 API for screen shots. Some information may not be defined to X11. Other programs may grab the information directly from the framebuffer where it is.
So wouldn't it be better to utilise framebuffer and get more functions?
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: import does not work with right click menus

Post by magick »

ImageMagick is designed to be cross-platform. Framebuffer access is very different from OS to OS. We could include an optional delegate library to access the framebuffer, however given our current workload, we don't see it as a priority. However, ImageMagick is open-source. Feel free to code up a solution and submit it to patches @ imagemagick dot org and we'll look towards adding it to a future release of ImageMagick.
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: import does not work with right click menus

Post by anthony »

Also frame buffers don't always hold all the information that is on the display. Some GLX (3D display) and Video Output, often go directly to the video display (for performance) without being stored in the X window Frame Buffer (for easier redraw of mostly static display data.

Getting screenshots in ALL situations is actually getting harder and harder in modern systems, and as doing remote GUI applications no longer always works.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Post Reply