Bug converting PS to PCL

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
sp00ff
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-03-17T07:59:05-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Bug converting PS to PCL

Post by sp00ff »

convert.exe fails when converting file.ps to file.pcl

Please help

UPDATE:

the command I'm trying is

convert doretree.ps doretree.pcl

So the oldest working version I could find was ImageMagick-6.4.9-6-Q16-windows-dll. From 6.5.0 the command fails with an unexpected windows error.
sp00ff
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-03-17T07:59:05-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Bug converting PS to PCL

Post by sp00ff »

The same happens when converting tiff to pcl. Has anyone had the same issue? Else can someone please confirm that its working?
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Bug converting PS to PCL

Post by magick »

Download the latest release of ImageMagick, 6.6.9-1. Now try
  • convert doretree.tif doretree.pcl
If that fails, try
  • convert doretree.tif -compress none doretree.pcl
If that fails, post a URL to your image so we can download it and reproduce the problem.
sp00ff
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-03-17T07:59:05-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Bug converting PS to PCL

Post by sp00ff »

Hi,

Thanks for the help. When using 6.6.9-1 the results are the same:

convert 001.tif 001.pcl
Image

convert 001.tif -compress none 001.pcl
Magick: 001.tif: unknown field with tag 59932 (0xea1c) encountered. `TIFFReadDirectory' @ warning/tiff.c/TIFFWarnings/706.

The tif file can be downloaded here:
http://app02.oztechnologies.co.za/001.tif
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Bug converting PS to PCL

Post by magick »

There appears to be a bug with delta-compression. We'll have a patch in the next point release of ImageMagick. However, -compress one works for us. We get a PCL result that can display with pcl6 from GhostPCL.
sp00ff
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-03-17T07:59:05-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Bug converting PS to PCL

Post by sp00ff »

Thanks, the conversion works now. However when converting this postscript file:

Image

using the command

Code: Select all

convert in.ps out.pcl
i get this:

Image

the scale is fine (the images are screen captures) but you'll see the pcl font is "choppy". Any idea why?

I'm on 6.6.9-6 using gs 9.00
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Bug converting PS to PCL

Post by magick »

Try this command:
  • convert -density 400 in.ps -resize 25% in.pcl
sp00ff
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-03-17T07:59:05-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Bug converting PS to PCL

Post by sp00ff »

Hi, thanks for the help. I tried the command but it didn't work. Its looking for an argument for density:

Code: Select all

C:\test>convert -density in.ps -resize 25% out.pcl
Magick: invalid argument for option `-density': in.ps @ error/convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/1165.
so I tried

Code: Select all

convert -density 300 in.ps out.pcl
This works perfectly! Thank you very very much.

I've been trying

Code: Select all

convert in.ps -density 300 out.pcl
all along but it kept resizing the output. Can't believe it was something so small.
Post Reply