convert.exe creates two images, not one

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
nycynik

convert.exe creates two images, not one

Post by nycynik »

I am converting some .tiff images to jpegs, and resizing them at the same time (creating thumbnails)

When i do this, it generates two images, instead of one as I expected. Is this a bug or a feature?

Convert.exe original.tiff new.jpg

results in

new-0.jpg
new-1.jpg

instead of

new.jpg

Thanks!
Drarakel
Posts: 547
Joined: 2010-04-07T12:36:59-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: convert.exe creates two images, not one

Post by Drarakel »

There are probably two images in your TIFF file. If you only want to process the first page, you can type 'original.tiff[0]' instead of just 'original.tiff', for example.
See here: http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/files/#read_mods
nycynik

Re: convert.exe creates two images, not one

Post by nycynik »

That is great information, and it does work, thank you!

Do you know, i did not see anywhere, a way to select this without using the special [..], and instead a command line switch?

Thanks either way!
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: convert.exe creates two images, not one

Post by fmw42 »

identify image

will list the image info for each frame/page

or use

convert image -format "%n" info:

to tell you the number of frames/pages. see http://www.imagemagick.org/script/escape.php

The only way to select one or more is by using the [...] bracket notation. See http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php under selecting frames
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: convert.exe creates two images, not one

Post by anthony »

nycynik wrote:Do you know, i did not see anywhere, a way to select this without using the special [..], and instead a command line switch?

Code: Select all

convert tiff_image delete 1--1  image.jpg
The delete deletes all images from 1 (second image index 1) to -1 (last image). if there are no images in that command does nothing.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Post Reply